Sleepless in my bedroom

2 am. I close my eyes and allow myself to hear and feel life around me. The constant white noise emanating from the box fan. The cold breeze rushing in from the night air that skims over my warm body. The strange little bumps that form from that wonderful cold breeze. My stomach talks to me like we are old friends. Explaining to me the hunger it’s experiencing. The pungent cigarette odor finding its way into my room from the smokers outside. My stomach churns from the smell and I’m no longer hungry. My children are asleep in the next room. I can hear the blankets rustling as they toss and turn, hopefully from dreams of rainbows and unicorns and not nightmares of demons and evil. There are two neighbor dogs who fight over who is more dominant. I find myself rooting for the under dog ( no pun intended). I open my eyes and I can see a small bug has found its way in through the window. He has found the warmth of the hall light and I can’t help but watch as he circles over and over again. I close my eyes again and pray that sleep takes me. I focus on my husbands breathing as he sleeps. It’s long and slow. It calms me. I lay my head on his chest for comfort and lose myself in chest hair! Finally I can hear our hearts struggling to beat as one. I focus on the rhythm. It’s beautiful. A love song just for me. I’m drifting. It’s time. Until tomorrow insomnia. My old friend.

6 thoughts on “Sleepless in my bedroom”

Leave a comment